TARDIS

I built a TARDIS!

Doctor Who is a favorite show of mine and I love the exterior look of the TARDIS.  For those not familiar with what the heck a TARDIS is, It is the Doctor’s time and space machine disguised as a 1963 London Police call box.  Too complicated to explain, but I’m sure if you clicked this link, you already knew that.

There is a link to a video of the final results, both inside and outside, at the end of this post.

I wanted this to be a piece of furniture, not something I stuck out in the garden so I had to scale it down a little.  I started with a 6​ foot tall by 40​ inch wide by 20​ inch deep bookcase. The effect, hopefully, will be that the TARDIS will appear to have materialized in the wall.

Image0

Used clear pine to build out the framing. Top signs building and test fitImage5

Image7I did not want to make the doors out of plywood, I wanted solid wood, so I laminated 18 pieces of 1×3 pine for the grain and sturdiness.

Image8

Test fitting the doors.

Image11

The paint job.  The paint I used is Valspar 4009-6.  A historic preservation certified color called “Fairmont Penthouse Mosaic Blue”

Image18

Being a police call box, it needed a phone.  I found a vintage Bakelite phone on ebay. Wired it so the light come on when the receiver is picked up.

Image19

 

Started to glaze the windows.  60% translucent perspex so the interior lights show through nicely.

Image23

 

Image25For the crown of this build, I found an inexpensive jelly jar porch light.  Added a wire light cage from a home improvement store, a 4​ inch PVC pipe cap, an Edison bulb, and some old lamp parts I already had in my “don’t-throw-away-because-you-might-need-it-one-day” box.

Image27

Here she is, the “embedded in the wall” effect I was going for. Closed, and then open.

closed

open

And the beauty shot.

tardisshare

Here is a video showing details of both inside and outside.  Video 

The full build is detailed at tardisbuilders.com

Let me know what you think.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “I built a TARDIS!”

Leave a Reply

